Office Of Firearms Safety FAQs

1. Questions regarding Denials or Revocations

When the Department denies an application or revokes a card/license, the person receives a letter with written notice regarding the denial or revocation.
  • Please refer to this letter for specific information regarding your situation.
  • If you cannot find your letter, you may use the following link to obtain additional information regarding why the denial or revocation may have occurred:
    Click Here.

This will depend upon the reason for the denial or revocation - Please use the tabs at the top of the page to determine where your specific appeal should be filed
  • Please refer to the letter you were sent providing notice of the denial or revocation for specific information regarding your situation.
  • If you cannot find your letter, you may use the following link to obtain additional information regarding why the denial or revocation may have occurred:
    Click Here.
  • If the denial or revocation of your FOID card was based on the following felony convictions, you must file an appeal with the Circuit Court in the county of your residence:
    • Forcible Felony
    • Stalking
    • Aggravated Stalking
    • Domestic Battery
    • Any violation of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act that is classified as a Class 2 or greater felony, any violation of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act that is classified as a Class 2 or greater felony, or any violation of the Cannabis Control Act that is classified as a Class 2 or greater felony
    • Any felony violation of Article 24 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012
    • Any adjudication as a delinquent minor for the commission of an offense that if committed by an adult would be a felony
If you obtain relief from the circuit court, please forward a copy of the court order granting such relief to the Office of Firearms Safety, Suite 600-S, 801 South 7th Street, Springfield, Illinois 62703

There is a box on the Request for FOID Investigation, Relief, and Reinstatement of Firearms Rights that allows you to appeal both of these actions simultaneously. Please mark the appropriate box and consideration will be given to both.

Yes, pursuant to Section 87(a) of the Firearm Concealed Carry Act (430 ILCS 66/87), final orders of the Board are subject to judicial review pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Review Law.
  • You may file a written petition in the Circuit Court in the county of your residence.
  • The petition must be filed within 35 days from the date you were served notice for a hearing upon the denial.

2. Questions regarding Submitting an Appeal

Yes, you may submit an appeal either through the mail or via email.
  • Appeals regarding your FOID Card may be emailed to: ISP.FOID.Appeals@illinois.gov
  • Appeals regarding your CCL may be emailed to: ISP.CCL.Appeals@illinois.gov
  • Appeals may also be sent by mail to the following address:
    • Illinois State Police
    • Office of Firearms Safety
    • Suite 600-S
    • 801 South 7th Street
    • Springfield, Illinois 62703

No, you may not. If you arrive at an Illinois State Police facility to appeal your firearms rights, you will be directed to leave and submit your appeal through the mail or via email as directed above.

  • FOID Appeals –
    • For most appeals, you must file your appeal within 60 days from receipt of notice of the denial or revocation. (20 Ill. Admin. Code 1230.70)
    • For appeals of a denial or revocation due to a felony conviction, you may submit an appeal regarding your FOID Card at any time.
    • If your felony conviction was for a forcible felony, you must appeal to the circuit court of the county in which you reside consistent with the provisions of Section 10(c)(1) of the FOID Act (430 ILCS 65/10(c)(1)).
  • CCL Appeals –
    • If your CCL application was denied by the CCLRB, which is a final administrative decision, pursuant to the Administrative Review Law, you must petition the Court in writing within 35 days from the date the denial was served upon you. (735 ILCS 5/3-103).
    • If your CCL application was denied or your CCL was revoked by the Department, you must file your appeal within 60 days from receipt of notice of the denial or revocation. (20 Ill. Admin. Code 1231.170).

This will depend upon the reason for the denial or revocation.
  • If you know the reason for your denial or revocation, please use the Forms and Checklists tab to locate a list of the requirements for your denial.
  • For additional assistance regarding what is required, please contact the Office of Firearms Safety at: ISP.FOID.Appeals@illinois.gov or ISP.CCL.Appeals@illinois.gov

3. Questions regarding Out of State or Federal Firearms Prohibitors

No, the Illinois State police does not have the authority to grant relief from this federal firearm prohibitor. Any appeal of your dishonorable discharge must be made to the military. A request to upgrade a discharge can be submitted at any time to the Board of Corrections of the branch of service from which you were dishonorably discharged.

No, the Illinois State Police cannot grant relief from a federal felony. Currently, a presidential pardon is the only means by which a person convicted of a federal felony offense may obtain relief from federal firearms disabilities.

No, the Illinois State Police cannot grant relief from out of state convictions. The Illinois State Police cannot take further action on your FOID card until you have obtained relief from the state in which the felony occurred.

You may file an appeal in Illinois. Please contact the Office of Firearms Safety at ISP.FOID.Appeals@illinois.gov to request additional information.

4. Questions Specific to Appeal the Denial or Revocation of a FOID Card

If the duration of your order of protection was less than a year, and the order of protection has since expired, you do not need to file an appeal. You may contact the Firearms Services Bureau by calling (217) 782-7980 or emailing ISP.AskFOIDandCCL@illinois.gov.

A misdemeanor crime of domestic violence is defined in 18 USC § 921(a)(33), which provides in relevant part the term “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence” means an offense that (i) is a misdemeanor under Federal, State, or Tribal law; and (ii) has, as an element, the use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly weapon, committed by a current or former spouse, parent, or guardian of the victim, by a person with whom the victim shares a child in common, by a person who is cohabiting with or has cohabited with the victim as a spouse, parent, or guardian, or by a person similarly situated to a spouse, parent, or guardian of the victim.

5. Questions Specific to Appeal the Denial or Revocation of a Concealed Carry License

You should request informal relief pursuant to 20 Ill. Admin. Code 1231.170(b) and submit a new training certificate issued consistent with the provisions of Section 75 of the Act. (430 ILCS 66/75)

You should appeal in writing within the 60 days to preserve your right to administrative appeal while you pursue further training. If you are denied informal relief because you do not have a new training certificate, you may request a formal administrative hearing which will allow you additional time to obtain a valid training certificate.

No, you will need to complete 16 hours of training from an approved instructor whose approval to instruct has not been revoked.

Questions about restitution should be directed to your instructor or the State's Attorney's Office for the county in which you received your training.

No. All materials considered by the Board are exempt from inspection except upon order of a court (430 ILCS 66/20(d)).