On September 1, 2020, the Director created the Office of Firearms Safety and named a Firearms Safety Counsel. The Firearms Safety Counsel and her team provide guidance and direction on public safety issues relating to the removal and restoration of firearms rights and privileges under Illinois law. The Office of Firearms Safety is responsible for developing protocols and procedures for evaluating risk for individuals whose access to firearms has been denied or revoked under Illinois law and overseeing and evaluating all appeals of Firearm Owner Identification Card (FOID Card) and Concealed Carry License (CCL) with respect to the legality for restoration of firearms rights and privileges. The Firearms Safety Counsel serves as the Department’s spokesperson and subject matter expert regarding firearms safety issues.
Why was my FOID card revoked or my FOID application denied?
Section 8 of the FOID Act provides that a FOID card may be revoked or an application denied for the following reasons:
The applicant is under 21 years of age and
- has been convicted of a misdemeanor other than a traffic offense or adjudged delinquent;
- Is not an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces;
- does not have the written consent of the applicant’s parent or guardian or the applicant’s parent or guardian does not qualify to have a FOID Card; or
- Is subject to a petition filed under Section 5-520 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 alleging that the minor is a delinquent minor for the commission of an offense that if committed by an adult would be a felony
- Has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this or any other jurisdiction;
- Is addicted to narcotics;
- Has been a patient of a mental health facility within the past 5 years
- Has been a patient in a mental health facility more than 5 years ago and has not received the certification required;
- Has a mental condition that is of such a nature that it poses a clear and present danger to the applicant, any other person or persons or the community;
- Has an intellectual disability;
- Intentionally made a false statement in the FOID Card application;
- Is an alien unlawfully present in the United States;
- Except for in certain instances, is an alien who has been admitted to the United States under a non-immigrant visa;
- Has been convicted within the past 5 years of battery, assault, aggravated assault, violation of an order of protection, or a substantially similar offense in another jurisdiction, in which a firearm was used or possessed;
- Has been convicted of domestic battery, aggravated domestic battery, or a substantially similar offense in another jurisdiction;
- Is prohibited from acquiring or possessing firearms or firearm ammunition by any Illinois State statute or by federal law;
- Had been adjudicated a delinquent minor under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 for the commission of an offense that if committed by an adult would be a felony;
- Is not a resident of the State of Illinois;
- Has been adjudicated as a person with a mental disability;
- Has been found to have a developmental disability; or
- Has been involuntarily admitted into a mental health facility.
Section 8.2 of the FOID Act provides that a FOID card shall be revoked or an application denied if
The applicant is or was at the time of issuance subject to an existing
- order of protection or
- firearms restraining order.
- For purposes of this section, order of protection shall include protective orders issued under the Illinois Domestic Violence Act, the Illinois Civil No Contact Orders Act, and the Illinois Stalking No Contact Order Act.
What am I required to do if my FOID Card or CCL were revoked?
The FOID Act (430 ILCS 65/9.5) requires within 48 hours of receiving notification of the revocation or suspension of your FOID Card, that you:
- Surrender your Firearm Owner's Identification Card to the local law enforcement agency where you reside;
- Transfer all firearms in your possession or control; and
Complete a Firearm Disposition Record, which can be found here.
Instructions are included on the form; failure to comply with this statute constitutes a Class A misdemeanor.
- If your FOID Card was revoked because you no longer reside in Illinois, please destroy your FOID card and ensure you are in compliance with the laws of the state in which your reside.
- If you are the sponsor of a minor(s) who has a FOID card, the minor's FOID card has also been revoked and must be immediately surrendered; please have the minor complete a Firearm Disposition Record as well.
The Firearm Concealed Carry Act (430 ILCS 66/70(g)) requires within 48 hours of receiving notification of the revocation or suspension of your FOID Card, that you:
- Surrender your CCL to the local law enforcement agency where you reside.
- If you have lost, surrendered, or otherwise destroyed your CCL, you must complete an affidavit that you are not in possession of the revoked or suspended CCL. A copy of the affidavit can be found here.
What do I do if I think there has been a mistake, and my FOID Card or CCL was incorrectly revoked or my application was incorrectly denied?
If you believe our records have inaccurately identified you as prohibited from possessing a FOID Card, you do not need to appeal to the Director for relief. Rather, you will need to utilize the Other Types of Firearms Rights Restorations Tab and select I Inadvertently Answered Yes or Need to Challenge My Record.
My FOID Card or CCL was revoked or my application was denied. How do I appeal this decision?
Section 10 of the FOID Act provides that when a FOID card is revoked or an application is denied, the aggrieved party may appeal to the Director of State Police for relief unless the revocation or denial was based upon certain felony convictions.
For additional information regarding how to appeal to the Director, please utilize the Types of Appeals Tab above.
- If you were a patient in a Mental Health Facility more than five years ago, you do not need to appeal to the Director for relief. Rather, you will need to utilize the Other Types of Firearms Rights Restorations Tab and select Mental Health Admission – more than five years ago.
- If you were convicted of a Misdemeanor Crime of Domestic Violence, you cannot appeal to the Director for relief. Rather, you will need to utilize the Other Types of Firearms Rights Restorations Tab and select Misdemeanor Crimes of Domestic Violence.
- If you were convicted of a forcible felony, stalking, aggravated stalking, domestic battery, any violation of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act that is Classified as a Class 2 or greater felony, a violation of the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act that is classified as a Class 2 or greater felony, or a violation of the Cannabis Control Act that is classified as a Class 2 or greater felony, a felony violation of Article 24 of the Criminal Code of 1961 or the Criminal Code of 2012, or any adjudication as a delinquent minor for the commission of an offense that if committed by an adult would be a felony ; you cannot appeal to the Director for relief. Rather, you will need to utilize the Other Types of Firearms Rights Restorations Tab and select Court Ordered Relief FOID.
- If you were revoked or denied pursuant to Section 8.2 of the FOID Act, you are not eligible for reinstatement of your firearms rights until the order of protection or firearms restraining order expires or is dismissed or vacated.
What do I do if I don’t understand why my FOID Card was revoked or my FOID Application was denied or otherwise cannot find what I need on this webpage?
Please use the Contact Us Tab above and select By eMail.