Obtain a Crash Report by Mail
All requests for crash reports will be governed by the Illinois Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), 5 ILCS 140/1, and you will be receiving a redacted
version of the requested records. However, if you would like an unredacted copy of a crash report, please send a
subpoena or an order signed by a judge along with your request to the Illinois State Police as follows:
Submit a written request containing as much of the following information as possible:
- Agency Crash Report Number- located in the upper right corner of your Driver's Information Exchange document
- Date of the Crash
- Location of the Crash
- Names of Involved Parties- drivers and passengers
Include a check or money order in the amount of $5.00 for a traffic crash report made
payable to “Illinois State Police.” Do not send cash.
Note: If you are sending a subpoena with your request, please be advised an additional $20.00 subpoena processing fee must be included.
- Include a self-addressed, stamped envelope
Mail the written request to:
Illinois State Police Patrol Records Unit 801 South 7th Street, Suite 600-M Springfield, Illinois 62703