Suspended FOID Cards
If your FOID card is suspended, you are still required to submit a Firearm Disposition Record (FDR) which can be found FDROpens in new window, including surrendering your FOID card to law enforcement or a valid FOID cardholder. If these steps are taken, your FOID status will be automatically reviewed upon expiration of the firearm prohibitor.
Order of Protection or Firearms Restraining Order - A review of your FOID status will be conducted automatically upon expiration of the initial court order.
Court-ordered Firearm Restrictions - A review of your FOID status will be conducted automatically upon expiration of the initial court order.
Felony indictment - A review of your FOID status will be conducted automatically 12 months from the date of suspension.
Drugs - A review of your FOID status will be conducted automatically 12 months from the date of disqualifying event.
If you believe there has been a change in status of your firearm prohibitor prior to the above listed expiration dates, you may request a review of your FOID status by emailing ISP.FOIDSuspensions@Illinois.gov along with your name, date of birth, FOID number, and FDR if it has not already been submitted.
Please Note: Submission of required documents does not guarantee reinstatement of a FOID card; however, it is required to begin the review.
Revoked Firearm Owner Identification (FOID) Cards
The FOID Act (430 ILCS 65/9.5) requires within 48 hours of receiving notification of the revocation or suspension of your FOID Card, that you:
- Surrender your Firearm Owner's Identification Card to the local law enforcement agency where you reside;
- Transfer all firearms in your possession or control; and
Complete a Firearm Disposition RecordOpens in new window.
Instructions are included on the form; failure to comply with this statute constitutes a Class A misdemeanor.
- If your FOID Card was revoked because you no longer reside in Illinois, please destroy your FOID card and ensure you are in compliance with the laws of the state in which your reside.
- If you are the sponsor of a minor(s) who has a FOID card, the minor's FOID card has also been revoked and must be immediately surrendered; please have the minor complete a Firearm Disposition Record as well.
Concealed Carry License Revoked
The Firearm Concealed Carry Act (430 ILCS 66/70(g)) requires within 48 hours of receiving notification of the revocation of your FOID Card, that you:
- Surrender your CCL to the local law enforcement agency where you reside.
- If you have lost, surrendered, or otherwise destroyed your CCL, you must complete a CCL Application Inadvertent Yes AffidavitOpens in new window.
Need to send us your new training certificate because your CCL instructor had their certification revoked? Please send it to: firstname.lastname@example.org.