ISP District 6 History

District 6 was one of the initial five police district in the Illinois State Police and was established in April 1922. Situated in the center of Illinois, District 6 encompasses Livingston, McLean, and DeWitt Counties. District 6’s unique composition includes multiple interstates, state highways, rural and metropolitan populations, two university communities, one correctional center, a nuclear plant, and the vital and expanding cities of Bloomington and Normal. In addition, the legendary Route 66 continues to be both a historic and well-traveled north/south corridor.

Since the inception of the Illinois State Police, District 6 has utilized three headquarter facilities (pictured above), each of which has been in the Pontiac area along Route 66.