FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: ISP Public Information Office ISP.PIO.Personnel@illinois.gov

Month x, 2024

13 OFFICERS FROM ACROSS ILLINOIS RECEIVE LAW ENFORCEMENT MEDAL OF HONOR

SPRINGFIELD – Governor JB Pritzker, Illinois State Police (ISP) Director Brendan F. Kelly, the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee, and law enforcement officials from across the state honored the acts of heroism performed by local and state officers during the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Ceremony today in Springfield. The Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee awarded 13 officers from four agencies the Medal of Honor in recognition of their brave and sacrificial service to the citizens of Illinois.

"Those we honor today have not only met the extraordinary obligations of their oath of office, but they have gone above and beyond the call of duty to protect our communities. We are forever grateful for their heroism," said Governor JB Pritzker. "We also mourn with those who have lost loved ones in the line of duty and we hope that today's ceremony offers families solace in knowing that Illinois stands with them. May the memory of our heroes be a blessing."

The Medal of Honor is awarded to officers who have been killed or seriously injured in the line of duty, or who have displayed exceptional bravery or heroism while performing their duties as a law enforcement officer.

"Today we recognize and thank these courageous officers for their unwavering bravery in the face of danger," said ISP Director Brendan F. Kelly. "Although these officers were in different situations, in different parts of the state, the outcome was the same – without hesitation, they prioritized the safety of the community over their own lives, and for that, we are eternally grateful."

The Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee was established in statute through the <u>Law Enforcement and Fire Fighting Medal of Honor Act</u> in 1990. Current committee members include ISP Director Kelly, Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board Executive Director Keith Calloway, Chicago Police Department Superintendent Larry Snelling, DeKalb Police Department Chief David Byrd, retired ISP Master Sergeant and St. Clair County Coroner Calvin Dye, and Lake County Sheriff John D. Idleburg.

Last year's event was the first ceremony held since 2016 and honored 136 recipients from 41 law enforcement agencies across the state, covering 2017-2022. The 2023 recipients for the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor being honored this year are:

Belvidere Police Department

Officer Joseph W. Danielak Officer David G. Ellingson Officer Christopher R. Garcia Officer Joseph M. McDermott Officer Dillon R. Rackley Officer Zachary C. Reese Officer Mark R. Weiland

On March 31, 2023, a tornado struck the Apollo Theatre in Belvidere, causing the 3rd floor roof to collapse onto a crowd of people who were inside attending a concert. These Belvidere officers arrived on scene and immediately joined in the search and rescue operation, pulling multiple patrons from the ruble.

Chicago Police Department

Officer Reynol Cuéllar De La Cruz Officer Maximo Mora Officer Julio Zavala

On October 7, 2023, these Chicago Police officers were riding together in a squad car, responding to a call of a "person shot" and a fleeing suspect vehicle. As the officers' squad car approached the suspect's vehicle, the suspect swerved into the squad car, striking it head-on. All three officers suffered extensive injuries that required lengthy recoveries. Assisting officers were able to take all the suspects into custody and recover multiple firearms.

Illinois State Police

Trooper Timothy W. Harper Sergeant Boguslaw H. Kramarz

On May 9, 2023, Trooper Harper stopped to assist a vehicle on Interstate 64 in Jefferson County. The two occupants falsely identified themselves multiple times and Sergeant Kramarz arrived as back-up. Officers determined the male suspect had an active warrant for a firearms offense, and the officers attempted to take him into custody. The suspect violently resisted the officers attempts before producing a firearm and shooting Sergeant Kramarz in the head. Trooper Harper returned fire, ending the threat, and then rendered aid to Sergeant Kramarz.

Lake County Sheriff's Office

Deputy Andrew T. Martini

On October 18, 2023, Lake County dispatch received a 9-1-1 call from a woman who stated her husband had attempted to kill himself with a knife and needed medical attention. Deputy Martini arrived on scene and attempted to provide medical aid to the injured suspect when the suspect suddenly grabbed a knife and attacked Deputy Martini. The Deputy retreated and began to direct the family to safety when the suspect advanced on them again. Deputy Martini fired at the suspect to stop the threat, and then provided aid to the man until paramedics arrived.