

## ILLINOIS STATE POLICE

## **NEWS RELEASE**

Brendan F. Kelly - Director

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 25, 2024

**CONTACT: ISP Public Information Office** 

ISP.PIO.Personnel@illinois.gov

## ILLINOIS STATE POLICE SQUAD CAR STRUCK BY DRIVER ON INTERSTATE 94

ISP experiences 12th Move Over Law related crash of 2024

**CHICAGO** – On March 25, 2024, at approximately 2:45 a.m., Illinois State Police (ISP) officials investigated a traffic crash in Chicago involving an ISP trooper's squad car hit by a motorist who failed to move over.

On the above date and time, an ISP squad car was parked and blocking a lane of traffic on Interstate 94 southbound near 63<sup>rd</sup> Street, with emergency lights activated, handling a previous traffic crash. The trooper was sitting inside the squad when it was sideswiped by a gray Jeep. An Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT) truck was also struck as a result of this crash. The trooper and the driver of the Jeep, 22-year-old David C. Walker of Chicago, IL., were transported to an area hospital with non-life-threatening injuries. The driver of the IDOT vehicle reported minor injuries but was not transported for treatment. Walker was cited for the Move Over Law – Failure to Yield to Stationary Emergency Vehicle, Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol, Improper Lane Usage, Failure to Reduce Speed to Avoid an Accident, Operating an Uninsured Motor Vehicle, and Driving While License Suspended.

Already in 2024, ISP has suffered 12 Move Over Law-related crashes with five troopers injured. In 2023, ISP had 21 Move Over Law-related crashes with seven troopers injured and suffered 25 crashes in 2022, leaving 13 troopers injured. ISP reminds the public that the Move Over Law, also known as "Scott's Law," requires all drivers to move over when approaching an emergency vehicle, or any vehicle with its emergency or hazard lights activated.

A person who violates the Move Over Law faces a fine of no less than \$250 and no more than \$10,000 for a first offense. If the violation results in injury to another person, the violator's driver's license will be suspended for a mandatory period of anywhere between six months and two years. Additional information can be found at the following link: https://isp.maps.arcgis.com/apps/dashboards/340d57cd956c453da2de25af804c268d.



03/25/24 ISP Troop 3 Squad Car