

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 31, 2023 CONTACT: ISP Public Information Office ISP.PIO.Personnel@illinois.gov

LAW ENFORCEMENT MEDAL OF HONOR AWARDED TO 136 RECIPIENTS FROM 41 LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES ACROSS ILLINOIS

SPRINGFIELD – Governor JB Pritzker, Illinois State Police (ISP) Director Brendan F. Kelly, and law enforcement officials from across the state honored the acts of heroism performed by local and state officers during the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Ceremony today in Springfield. The Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee awarded 136 officers from 41 agencies the Medal of Honor in recognition of their brave and sacrificial service to the citizens of Illinois.

"Every single one of our Medal of Honor Awardees exemplify the unwavering unselfishness and courage that it takes to be a true public servant," said Governor JB Pritzker. "From the July 4th Highland Park massacre to hostage situations and armed robberies, Illinois' police officers respond to our most daunting emergencies with resolve and selflessness — and on behalf of the people of Illinois, we couldn't be more grateful."

The Medal of Honor is awarded to officers who have been killed or seriously injured in the line of duty or who have displayed exceptional bravery or heroism while performing their duties as a law enforcement officer.

"The special souls we pay tribute to met the common daily challenge of enforcing our laws with uncommon bravery," said ISP Director Brendan F. Kelly. "The Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee and the Illinois State Police honor these heroes, some who paid the ultimate price, in the pursuit of justice and the protection of public safety."

The Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee was established in statute through the Law Enforcement and Fire Fighting Medal of Honor Act in 1990. Current committee members include ISP Director Kelly, Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board Executive Director Keith Calloway, Chicago Police Department Interim Superintendent Eric Carter, DeKalb Police Department Chief David Byrd, retired ISP Master Sergeant and St. Clair County Coroner Calvin Dye, and McHenry County Conservation District Police Chief Laura King.

Today's ceremony was the first held since 2016. The follow are the list of recipients from 2017 through 2022.

Aurora Police Department

2022 Officer Alexander Lopez Officer Andrew C. Soderlund

Belvidere Police Department

2017 Officer Ryan R. Davenport Officer Joseph M. McDermott

Bloomingdale Police Department

2017 Officer Raymond A. Murrell, posthumously

Bolingbrook Police Department 2022

Officer Salvatore Davi

Bradley Police Department

2021 Officer Tyler J. Bailey Sergeant Marlene R. Rittmanic, posthumously

Bridgeview Police Department 2019 Officer John Stein

Brooklyn Police Department 2021 Officer Brian R. Pierce Jr., posthumously

<u>Carbondale Police Department</u> 2017 Sergeant Guy G. Draper

Carpentersville Police Department 2019

Sergeant Kevin M. Stankowitz Officer Ian R. Abrahamsen

Champaign Police Department

2021 Officer Jeffrey J. Creel Officer Christopher N. Oberheim, posthumously

Chicago Heights Police Department

2021 Officer Gary S. Hibbs, posthumously

Chicago Police Department

2017 Sergeant Michael Keeney Sergeant Scott Kravitz Sergeant John Pellegrini Sergeant Sonia Rios Sergeant Erick Seng Officer Bernard W. Domagala, posthumously Officer Patrick W. Forbes Officer David Hardt Officer Martin Hernandez Officer Michael L. Hudson Officer Joel Lopez Officer Luis Lopez Officer Victoria Mendoza Officer Christian Nunez Officer David Perez Officer Efrain Rodriguez Officer Andre H. Van Vegten, posthumously

2018

Commander Paul R. Bauer, posthumously Officer Conrad Gary, posthumously Officer Samuel Jimenez, posthumously Officer Eduardo Marmolejo, posthumously Officer Elvis Turcinovic 2019

Lieutenant Thomas Lamb Jr. Sergeant John Hamilton Detective Michael J. Chiocca Officer James Henson Officer Angelina M. Palermo Officer Fernando Soto Officer Michaela Tuohy Officer Jairo Valeriano Officer Adam M. Wazny Officer George Whiting

2020

Sergeant Frank V. Ramaglia Officer Carlos Castillo

2021

Sergeant Mathew J. Lopez Officer Mark R. Bean Officer Joshua Blas Officer Roger Ferreira Officer Ella G. French, posthumously Officer Julio Garcia Officer Brayan Jauregui Officer Michael Kocerka Officer Bernard Lee Jr. Officer Daniel McAuliffe Officer Adrian McCoy Officer Nicolas Morales Jr. Officer Mark J. Nakayama Officer Eduardo Perez Officer Thomas Raap Officer Justin Simik-Valadez Officer Crysel A. Torres Officer Carlos A. Yanez Jr.

2022

Officer Fabian Arreola Officer Rudy Estrada Officer Sean J. Murray Officer Erik A. Moreno Officer Olivia A. Sardella Officer Felipe A. Zamorano Page 3 / Medal of Honor Ceremony

Cicero Police Department

2018 Officer Jamarie Coleman Officer Luis Duarte

DeKalb Police Department

2021 Officer Brian Bollow Officer Kaela Gardner

Dixon Police Department

2018 Officer Mark A. Dallas

East Moline Police Department

2019 Officer Ryan T. Clark Officer Logan A. Wolfe

<u>East Peoria Police Department</u>

2021 Officer Jeffrey A. Bieber

Evanston Police Department

2020 Officer Brandon Marx

2021 Officer Justin L. Conely Officer Corey D. McCray Officer Adam A. Nawotka Officer Karl M. Witt

Fulton County Sheriff's Office

2019 Deputy Troy P. Chisum, posthumously

Glen Ellyn Police Department

2017 Officer Kevin J. Riggle

Hampton Police Department

2020 Chief of Police Terrence A. Engle, posthumously

Page 4 / Medal of Honor Ceremony

Hometown Police Department 2021 Lieutenant James Kouski, posthumously

Illinois Conservation Police

2017 Conservation Police Officer Shane M. Teas

<u>Illinois Gaming Board</u> 2020 Senior Special Agent Bryan E. Hileman

Illinois State Police

2017 Sergeant Nicholas Colon Trooper Ryan M. Albin, posthumously Trooper Chad Martinez

2019

Trooper Gerald W. Ellis, posthumously Trooper Jeffery A. Graham Trooper Nicholas J. Hopkins, posthumously Trooper Brooke Jones-Story, posthumously Trooper Christopher J. Lambert, posthumously Trooper Kyle M. Seger

2021

Trooper Adam G. Bowers Trooper Brian W. Frank Trooper Jeffery A. Graham Trooper Matthew W. Hannan Trooper Todd A. Hanneken, posthumously Trooper Delano Harris-Samuels Trooper Michael D. Higgins Trooper Michael D. Higgins Trooper Tyler J. Hoogerwerf Trooper Alexander J. Oakley Trooper Steven E. Smith Trooper Robert D. Swift Special Agent Mark S. Perry

2022

Sergeant Jeff D. Moore Trooper Kristopher Martinez Trooper Matthew A. Reents

Jefferson County Sheriff's Office

2021 Deputy David A. May

Jerseyville Police Department 2017

Officer Nathan D. Miller

Knox County Sherriff's Department

2022 Deputy Sheriff Nicholas D. Weist, posthumously

Lake County Sheriff's Office

2018 Deputy John B. Forlenza Deputy Raymond J. Gilbert

Lombard Police Department

2022 Detective Ryan A. Postal

McHenry County Sheriff's Office 2020 Sergeant Daniel Kramer Deputy Thomas Sieber

2019 Deputy Jacob H. Keltner, posthumously

<u>North Aurora Police Department</u> 2017

Officer Christopher M. Joswick

Oswego Police Department

2017 Officer Brandon T. Dilg

Peoria Police Department

2018 Officer Ian K. McDowell

Pontoon Beach Police Department 2021

Officer Tyler N. Timmins, posthumously

Page 5 / Medal of Honor Ceremony

Rockford Police Department

2017 Officer Jaimie J. Cox, posthumously

<u>University of Chicago Police Department</u> 2018

Officer Nicholas Twardak

Wamac Police Department 2019 Chief of Police Steve R. Prather

Waukegan Police Department

2017 Officer Peter V. Lyons

2018 Officer Christopher A. Harris

Wayne County Sheriff's Department 2021

Deputy Sean I. Riley, posthumously

###