

ILLINOIS STATE POLICE NEWS RELEASE

Brendan F. Kelly - Director

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 29, 2025 CONTACT: ISP Public Information Office ISP.PIO.Personnel@illinois.gov

OFFICERS FROM ACROSS ILLINOIS RECEIVE ILLINOIS LAW ENFORCEMENT MEDAL OF HONOR

SPRINGFIELD – Governor JB Pritzker, Illinois State Police (ISP) Director Brendan F. Kelly, the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee, and law enforcement officials from across the state gathered today for the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Ceremony in Springfield to honor officers who performed acts of heroism. The Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee awarded 23 officers from 10 agencies the Medal of Honor in recognition of their brave and sacrificial service to the people of Illinois.

"Today, we pay tribute to our heroic police officers who have gone above and beyond the call of duty while protecting our communities," said Governor JB Pritzker. "From Palatine to Chicago to Granite City, our honorees saved lives and offered comfort and support to countless others. While we will never be able to repay their bravery in full, we hope that this recognition can serve as a public reminder of our gratitude and a symbol of the sincere reverence we hold them in."

The Medal of Honor is awarded to officers who have been killed or seriously injured in the line of duty, or who have displayed exceptional bravery or heroism while performing their duties as a law enforcement officer.

"Today we recognize and praise these outstanding examples of courage," said ISP Director Brendan F. Kelly. "These men and women faced extreme danger, remained brave in the face of imminent threats, and performed with the highest heroism. Today and forever, we thank and honor them."

The Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee was established in statute through the <u>Law</u> <u>Enforcement and Fire Fighting Medal of Honor Act</u> in 1990. Current committee members include ISP Director Kelly, Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board Executive Director Keith Calloway, Chicago Police Department Superintendent Larry Snelling, DeKalb Police Department Chief David Byrd, retired ISP Master Sergeant and St. Clair County Coroner Calvin Dye, Lake County Sheriff John D. Idleburg, and Central Illinois Police Training Center Director Brian Fengel.

-more-

The 2024 recipients for the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor being honored this year are:

Chicago Police Department

Officer Roy De La Huerta Officer Michelle Drapala Officer Edwin J. Gramajo Officer Luis M. Huesca Officer Omar Jimenez Officer Carlos Martinez Officer Enrique Martinez

Chillicothe Police Department

Officer David J. Buchanan

Cicero Police Department

Officer Luis Martinez Officer Reynol Ramos

DeKalb County Sheriff's Office

Deputy Christina M. Musil

DeKalb Police Department

Officer Brian Bollow Chief David Byrd Sergeant Keunte Mallett

East Moline Police Department

Sergeant William R. Lind

Granite City Police Department

Officer Douglas B. Nicoson

Illinois State Police

Trooper Clay M. Carns Trooper Adam D. Fitts Master Sergeant Ross A. Green Trooper Corey S. Thompsen Trooper Blake D. Thompson

Palatine Police Department Officer Shane P. Murray

Rockford Police Department Officer Jonathan A. Vargas