

## ILLINOIS STATE POLICE NEWS RELEASE

Brendan F. Kelly - Director

**FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE** December 6, 2024 CONTACT: ISP Public Information Office ISP.PIO.Personnel@illinois.gov

## ANOTHER ILLINOIS STATE POLICE TROOPER HIT BY DUI DRIVER WHILE STANDING OUTSIDE OF SQUAD CAR

## ISP experiences 24<sup>th</sup> Move Over Law related crash of 2024

**POSEN** – Illinois State Police (ISP) officials investigated a traffic crash in Posen involving an ISP trooper who was standing outside of their car conducting a traffic stop when they were hit by an intoxicated driver who failed to move over.

On December 5, 2024, at approximately 8:30 p.m., an ISP trooper activated their emergency lights and initiated a traffic stop on Interstate 57 southbound near 135<sup>th</sup> Street. The trooper was outside of the squad car, standing next to the passenger side of the vehicle they pulled over. A Hyundai SUV failed to move over and sideswiped the parked squad car's driver's side mirror before striking the rear driver's side of pulled-over vehicle. The pulled-over vehicle then hit the trooper, pushing the trooper's body backwards into a ditch. The trooper suffered serious injuries. The driver of the pulled-over vehicle was also injured. The driver of the Hyundai, 56-year-old Ricky D. Jordon of Chicago, IL. was charged with Aggravated Driving Under the Influence - No Valid Driver's License. And additional charge of Aggravated Scott's Law violation (Class 4 Felony) is pending.

Already in 2024, ISP has suffered 24 Move Over Law-related crashes with 12 troopers injured. In 2023, ISP had 21 Move Over Law-related crashes with seven troopers injured, and suffered 25 crashes in 2022 leaving 13 troopers injured. ISP reminds the public the Move Over Law, also known as "Scott's Law" in Illinois, requires all drivers to move over when approaching an emergency vehicle or any vehicle with its emergency or hazard lights activated.

A person who violates the Move Over Law faces a fine of no less than \$250 and no more than \$10,000 for a first offense. If the violation results in injury to another person, the violator's driver's license will be suspended for a mandatory period of anywhere between six months and two years. Additional information can be found at the following link: https://isp.maps.arcgis.com/apps/dashboards/340d57cd956c453da2de25af804c268d.



The charges are not evidence against the defendant, and the defendant is presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt in a court of law.