

ILLINOIS STATE POLICE NEWS RELEASE

Brendan F. Kelly - Director

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE November 8, 2024 CONTACT: ISP Public Information Office ISP.PIO.Personnel@illinois.gov

ANOTHER ILLINOIS STATE POLICE TROOPER INJURED AFTER BEING HIT ON CHICAGO EXPRESSWAY

ISP experiences 22nd *Move Over Law related crash of* 2024

CHICAGO – Illinois State Police (ISP) officials investigated a traffic crash in Chicago involving an ISP trooper struck by a motorist who failed to move over.

On November 5, 2024, at approximately 10 p.m., an ISP trooper was stopped on the left shoulder of the Bishop Ford, Interstate 94 southbound, at the Cottage Grove accident investigation site with its emergency lights activated. An Infiniti sedan was attempting to change lanes into the left lane when it lost control striking another vehicle and the squad car. The trooper was transported to a hospital with injuries. The driver of the Infiniti, 25-year-old Shylyn J. Richmond of Lansing, IL, was charged with Aggravated Scott's Law Violation (Class 4 Felony) and issued citations for Driving Under the Influence, Driving While License Revoked, Driving Too Fast for Conditions, and multiple other Illinois Vehicle Code violations.

This is the second Move Over crash in Chicago in just two days. On November 4, 2024 another Trooper was standing on the grassy embankment of Interstate 57 handling a traffic crash when they were struck by a vehicle. The trooper was seriously injured.

Already in 2024, ISP has suffered 22 Move Over Law-related crashes statewide with 11 troopers injured. In 2023, ISP had 21 Move Over Law-related crashes with seven troopers injured and suffered 25 crashes in 2022 leaving 13 troopers injured. ISP reminds the public the Move Over Law, also known as "Scott's Law" in Illinois, requires all drivers to move over when approaching an emergency vehicle or any vehicle with its emergency or hazard lights activated.

A person who violates the Move Over Law faces a fine of no less than \$250 and no more than \$10,000 for a first offense. If the violation results in injury to another person, the violator's driver's license will be suspended for a mandatory period of anywhere between six months and two years. Additional information can be found at the following link: https://isp.maps.arcgis.com/apps/dashboards/340d57cd956c453da2de25af804c268d.



The charges are not evidence against the defendant, and the defendant is presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt in a court of law.