

## **ILLINOIS STATE POLICE** NEWS RELEASE

Brendan F. Kelly - Director

**FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE** November 6, 2024 CONTACT: ISP Public Information Office ISP.PIO.Personnel@illinois.gov

## <u>ILLINOIS STATE POLICE TROOPER HIT WHILE STANDING</u> <u>NEAR SHOULDER OF CHICAGO EXPRESSWAY</u>

## ISP experiences 21<sup>st</sup> Move Over Law related crash of 2024

**CHICAGO** – Illinois State Police (ISP) officials investigated a traffic crash in Chicago involving an ISP trooper struck by an unlicensed driver who failed to move over.

On November 4, 2024, at approximately 10:22 a.m., an ISP trooper's marked squad car was parked on the right shoulder of Interstate 57 northbound near 108<sup>th</sup> Street with its emergency lights activated, handling a previous two-vehicle traffic crash. The trooper was standing on the grassy embankment just east of the roadway, when a black Hyundai traveling northbound failed to move over, drove onto the shoulder, and struck the trooper and the other two other parked vehicles. The trooper was transported to an area hospital with serious injuries. No other injuries were reported. The driver of the Hyundai, 22-year-old Dario A. Lopez-Arevalo of Robbins, IL, was charged with Aggravated Scott's Law Violation (Class 4 Felony) and issued citations for No Valid Driver's License - Never Issued, Operation of an Uninsured Motor Vehicle, and multiple other Illinois Vehicle Code violations.

This is the second Move Over crash involving a Chicagoland trooper in the last week. On October 29, 2024, another ISP squad car was struck near Joliet, and the offending driver was charged with Driving Under the Influence.

Already in 2024, ISP has suffered 21 Move Over Law-related crashes statewide with ten troopers injured. In 2023, ISP had 21 Move Over Law-related crashes with seven troopers injured and suffered 25 crashes in 2022 leaving 13 troopers injured. ISP reminds the public the Move Over Law, also known as "Scott's Law" in Illinois, requires all drivers to move over when approaching an emergency vehicle or any vehicle with its emergency or hazard lights activated.

A person who violates the Move Over Law faces a fine of no less than \$250 and no more than \$10,000 for a first offense. If the violation results in injury to another person, the violator's driver's license will be suspended for a mandatory period of anywhere between six months and two years. Additional information can be found at the following link: https://isp.maps.arcgis.com/apps/dashboards/340d57cd956c453da2de25af804c268d.

The charges are not evidence against the defendant, and the defendant is presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt in a court of law.