

ILLINOIS STATE POLICE NEWS RELEASE

Brendan F. Kelly - Director

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 16, 2024 CONTACT: ISP Public Information Office ISP.PIO.Personnel@illinois.gov

ILLINOIS STATE POLICE TROOPER BRIAN FRANK AWARDED THE ILLINOIS LAW ENFORCEMENT MEDAL OF HONOR

SPRINGFIELD – Today, Governor JB Pritzker and Illinois State Police (ISP) Director and Illinois Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee Chair Brendan F. Kelly presented the Illinois Law Enforcement Medal of Honor to ISP Trooper Brian Frank in recognition of his exceptional bravery and sacrificial service to the residents of Illinois.

On February 15, 2021, ISP Trooper Brian Frank was seriously injured as a result of a Move Over Law violation, known as Scott's Law in Illinois. Trooper Frank was responding to a traffic crash in Will County and pulled behind the wrecked vehicles in the left lane with his emergency lights activated. Another car crashed into the rear of Trooper Frank's squad car causing incapacitating injuries to him. The driver was charged with Aggravated Reckless Driving and for violating the Move Over Law.

"One of the highest distinctions in all of law enforcement, the Medal of Honor is awarded to brave officers who put themselves in harms way to keep Illinoisans safe and protected," said Governor JB Pritzker. "Trooper Frank, in his service to Illinois State Police, and in the example he has set during his recovery, has set a high standard of bravery and made our state a better and safer place — especially for his fellow officers. This Medal of Honor will not even begin to repay Trooper Frank's sacrifices, but I hope it serves as a reminder of the reverence we hold him in and the incredibly positive impact of his service."

The Illinois Law Enforcement Medal of Honor is awarded by the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee to officers who have been killed or seriously injured in the line of duty, or who have displayed exceptional bravery or heroism while performing their duties as a law enforcement officer. Due to his ongoing recovery efforts, Trooper Frank has been unable to attend <u>previous</u> awards ceremonies.

"There are not enough words to express the extreme gratitude for Trooper Brian Frank's selfless sacrifice, nor the words to convey the heartache for his debilitating injuries," said Committee Chair Kelly. "It is truly an honor to award Trooper Brian Frank the Illinois Law Enforcement Medal of Honor."

Today, Trooper Frank received the award alongside his wife, Lauren Frank, who is a strong Move Over Law advocate. Trooper Frank has persevered through an extensive rehabilitative journey, and with the support of family, friends, and the community at large, he courageously continues to work towards recovery. "Navigating Brian's severe traumatic brain injury recovery and aftermath has been the hardest thing I ever could have imagined," said Lauren Frank. "We are 3.5 years out and still waiting for Brian to return to full consciousness. The setbacks, the complications, the legal matters, the medical bills, the home life adjustments, just to name a few obstacles since the crash, have been incomprehensible. I am grateful to take a moment to pause and recognize Brian for the hero that he is. Amidst all the heartache, he deserves to be celebrated for surviving another year against all odds, for the sacrifice he made, risking and ultimately giving his life, to protect others. I am so proud of Brian and it is my honor to love him and fight alongside him for his healing. For today, this acknowledgment with the Medal of Honor is certainly a gift."

The Illinois Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee was established in statute through the Law Enforcement and Fire Fighting Medal of Honor Act in 1990. Current committee members include ISP Director Kelly, Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board Executive Director Keith Calloway, Chicago Police Department Superintendent Larry Snelling, DeKalb Police Department Chief David Byrd, retired ISP Master Sergeant and St. Clair County Coroner Calvin Dye, and Lake County Sheriff John D. Idleburg.

###