## **Technology Subcommittee**

## **Open Meeting**

## Monday, July 25, 2022 11:00 am

## **Meeting Notes**

Illinois State Police Deputy Director Robin Woolery discussed the requirements of the Open Meeting Act, requiring this Subcommittee's meetings to follow rules and regulations of the Open Meeting Act including publishing Agenda 48 hours prior to meeting (virtually and at public location), Roll-call, and taking of minutes.

- I. Call to Order
  - a. 11:10 am by Jeffrey Buford, seconded by Caryn Tucker
- II. Roll-call
  - a. Jeffrey Buford, Illinois State Police, Interim Laboratory Director Forensic Science Center @ Chicago
  - b. Jillian Baker, DuPage County, Drug Chemistry
  - c. Jeanne Richeal, Illinois State Police, DNA Technical Leader
  - d. Caryn Tucker, Illinois State Police, Firearm & Toolmark Training Coordinator
  - e. Cris Hughes, University of Illinois Urbana Forensic Anthropology
- III. Discussion Topics
  - a. Nomination of Technology Subcommittee Chairperson
    - i. Jeffrey Buford nominated by Caryn Tucker, seconded by Jillian Baker. All in favor.
  - b. Discussion regarding the purpose of this committee including that we are all stakeholders in the technology side of what of analysis and would we like to discuss technology as an overall approach or focus on core disciplines individually
    - i. Discussion of our current roles/backgrounds and which core discipines we represent
    - ii. Decision to forcus primary work on core disciplines including: Bio/DNA, Trace Chemistry, Firearm & Toolmark, Drug Chemistry, Toxicology and Latent Prints
    - iii. Discussion on expanding committee to include members of core disciplines of Toxicology, Trace Chemistry, and Latent Prints, as well as any other persons we believe to be beneficial within our own core disciplines. Expanded members will attend next meeting.
    - iv. Discussion of secondary technology ideas including LIMS/QA/data tracking technology, questioned documents and digital forensics
- IV. Next Meeting/ Adjournment
  - a. Next meeting Set for August 17<sup>th</sup> 11am
- V. Motion to Adjourn by Jillian Baker, seconded by Jeanne Richeal