Technology Subcommittee

Open Meeting

Wednesday, November 8, 2023 11:00 am

Meeting Notes

- I. Call to Order
- a. 11:05 am by Jeff Buford
- II. Roll-call
 - a. Jeffrey Buford, Illinois State Police, Interim Northern Bureau Chief Illinois State Police
 - b. Casey Craven, Illinois State Police, Forensic Science Center @ Chicago, Toxicologist
 - c. Gina Havlik, NIRCL, Toxicology Forensic Scientist
 - d. Adrienne Bickel, Illinois State Police, Trace Forensic Scientist
 - e. Jamie Edwards, Illinois State Police, Latent Prints Springfield Laboratory
 - f. Megan Neff, Illinois State Police, DNA, Chicago
 - g. Caryn Tucker, Illinois State Police, Firearms Training Coordinator
 - h. Cris Hughes, University of Illinois Urbana
 - i. Bryan Tomac, Illinois State Police, Firearms, Metro East
 - j. Kevin Gillespie, Illinois State Police, Trace, Chicago
 - k. Jason George, Illinois State Police, Drug Chemistry Section Chief, Chicago
 - I. Dan Pruitt, Illinois State Police, Toxicology, Springfield
 - m. Amanda Shanbaum, Illinois State Police, Interim Laboratory Director, Chicago
 - n. Amy Watroba, DuPage County
 - o. Tim Ruppel, Kane County
 - p. Sarah Ware, Kane County
 - q. John Biesiadecki, public member
- III. Approval of Notes
 - b. Motion to Approve by Adrienne Bickel, seconded by Caryn Tucker
 - c. Revised Motion to Approve (corrected date) by Caryn Tucker, second by Adrienne Bickel
- IV. Chairperson Report
 - a. Forensic Science Commission update on status of next meeting December 18, 2023.
 - Update by Training & Applications subcommittee chair Caryn Tucker on presentation October 26, 2023 to Judges at 26th & California on firearms section, including emerging technologies; presentation by DNA scheduled for November 14, 2023

V. Presentations

- a. Trace Chemistry (Adrienne Bickel presented presentation will be shared on Teams
- b. Trace (Kevin Gillespie): Will present in December

VI. Public Comments

- a. No comments
- VII. Next Meeting/ Adjournment
 - a. Next meeting set for Wednesday, December 13, 2023 at 11:00am
 - b. Adjourned at 11:45pm by Jeff Buford, seconded by Caryn Tucker